Lone Star Coach Keita Kicks Off Training Today As He Calls-Up 25 Local Players


Monrovia –  Liberia national Football team head coach Ansumana Keita will commence his first training session on today , Tuesday February 7, at the Samuel K. Doe sports complex.

The Lone Star coach has put together a group of twenty-five selected local players.

By: Christopher C. Walker 0777898224/0886723075 [email protected]

Keita said the training is part of his program to prepare for March’s back-to-back qualifiers against South Africa in the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations.

He said the list is subject to changes at any time based on performances of the players during the period of the training.

Liberia has a scheduled fixture with South Africa in March 2023 as part of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations’ qualifiers that will take place in Ivory Coast, the 34th edition of the men’s football championship of Africa.

Kaita who came to Liberia as under U-15-17 coach convince the LFA and the government of Liberia to upgrade him to the senior national team after his attractive football with the kids.

The new Lone Star coach signed a two-year contract to head the LFA project with a direct mandate to qualify Liberia for the 2023 Africa cup of Nations, African Nations Championship [ CHAN ] and 2025 qualifiers.

Speaking for the first time as Lone Star coach Keita promised to do his best for the national team to put smiles on the faces of Liberians.

“I’m not God. I may do well. I may not do well. All depends on our preparations.”

Among other things, Keita said he will focus on more local players than foreign based.

Below is the Full list of Players called up for training.

Goalkeepers: Tommy Songo (LISCR FC), Emmanuel Denneah (Bea Mountain) and Derrick Julu (Watanga FC)

Defenders: Alexander Curtis and Henry Sakama (Watanga FC); Hamed Fofana (Gardnersville FC), George Wallace (LPRC Oilers), Nelson Laomine (Mighty Enforcers), and Prince Nagbo (Nimba Kwado) 

Midfielders: Yaya Bility, Kertu Jerbo and John Jaysay (Bea Mountain); Morris Konneh and Sean Barry (Heaven Eleven); Farsedu Logan and Sheick Sesay (Watanga FC); Christopher Sergbeh (LISCR FC), Sidiki Kromah (Invincible Eleven), Darius Johnson (Freeport FC), Arku Morris (Muscat FC) and Abu Kindness Cole (Mighty Barrolle)

Forwards: Jeremiah Johnson (Invincible Eleven), Christopher Jackson (LISCR FC) and Gibson Freeman (Cece United)