Liberia Takes on Senegal in 2020 CHAN Qualifier on Sunday

Liberia’s Lone Star just returned from Equatorial Guinea with a 1-1 draw after an international friendly match between both countries’ national football teams

Monrovia – Liberia will take on Senegal in a 2020 African Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifier at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium (ATS) on Sunday, July 28 at 4 P.M.

Lone Star head coach Thomas Kojo and his technical staff selected 25 players, who began training at the ATS on 1 July following medical and physical examinations. 

Liberia’s national team is fresh from being held to a 1-1 draw by Equatorial Guinea in an international friendly in Malabo on 21 July.   

It will be the first meeting between Senegal and Liberia in the CHAN qualifiers but the Senegalese have won eight and drawn five matches in their 13 meetings across the African Cup of Nations and World Cup qualifiers and Amilcar Cabral and CEDEAO Cups. 

Liberia lost 5-4 to Senegal on kicks from the penalty mark following a goalless draw in the 2017 West African Football Union (WAFU) Nations Cup in Ghana on 9 September in their last meeting.  

Senegal has failed to qualify for the last three CHAN finals in South Africa in 2014, Rwanda in 2016 and Morocco in 2018, having reached the semis in the inaugural edition in Ivory Coast in 2009 and were eliminated in the group stage in Sudan in 2011. 

Liberia has never crossed the first stage of the qualifiers and Coach Kojo, who begins a Confederation of African Football (CAF) four-match touchline ban on Sunday, has been tasked with ending that curse.

CAF announced CHAN on 11 September 2007 to be played among the best national teams, exclusively featuring players, who are active in the national championships and qualified to play in the ongoing season. 

Expatriate players, regardless of where they play, are ineligible. 

CHAN was expanded to 16 teams for the second tournament in Sudan in 2011, which was won by Tunisia in the wake of the Tunisian revolution. 

Here is the updated squad

Goalkeepers: Prince Wlame (LPRC Oilers), Tommy Songo (LISCR FC) and Alpha Jalloh (BYC) 

Defenders: Alvin Maccornel and Nuwo Johnson (LPRC Oilers); Kemoh Kamara and Dirkir Glay (LISCR FC) and Daniel Woto (BYC) 

Midfielders: Armah Vaikainah, Sam Jackson and Edward Ledlum (LISCR FC); Isaac Pupo (Watanga FC), Abdulai Yaya Bility (BYC), Farsedu Logan (Watanga), Ebenezer Solo (LPRC Oilers) and Marvin Blapoh (Monrovia Club Breweries)

Forwards: Christopher Jackson (LISCR FC), Varney Dukuly (Nimba United) and Terry Sackor (LPRC Oilers)