Sports Ministry Releases 2016/2017 National County Meet Draw


Monrovia – The Ministry of Youth and Sports (MYS) has released the draw for the 2016/2017 national county sports meet with what it calls a new favor.

Group one will feature hosts Grand Cape Mount, Bomi, Gbarpolu and defending champions Grand Bassa Counties, which will be based in Robertsports.

Group two, which will be based in Voinjama, consists of hosts Lofa, Margibi and Bong Counties.

Group three consists of hosts Nimba, Montserrado, Sinoe and River Cess Counties and will be based in Sanniquellie.

And Group four will feature hosts Maryland, Grand Gedeh, River Gee and Grand Kru Counties and will be based in Harper.

According to deputy sports minister Henry B. Yonton, the official ceremony will be held in Robertsports, which is expected to be graced by President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, Vice President Joseph Nyumah Boakai and senior government officials.

Yonton said the tournament will kick-off on December 3 with two teams qualifying from each zone respectively.

Unlike in the past where the quarter-finalists play a one-off match, they will be placed in two groups for a round robin to qualify for the semi-finals.

Yonton said the quarter-finalists will be based in Monrovia and Gbarnga or Buchanan.

He said the rules, which will shortly be circulated to all media institutions, have been sent to the county sports coordinators for their inputs.

The sports meets are organized by the sports ministry in collaboration with the Ministry of Internal Affairs.