Lonestar Departs Liberia to Honor Two International Friendlies in Tunis


Monrovia – The national team of Liberia, the Lonestar has left the country to honor its two international friendlies.

The team is expected to face Mauritania this Friday, June 11 and Libya on the 14th of June, with the games expected to be played in Tunisian’s Capital of Tunis.

The team’s departure followed head coach Peter Butler’s completion of his full squad which include 10 foreign-based players.

Uncapped defenders Prince Balde and Othello Bah are among the 10 foreign-based players invited for the trip.

Midfielder Seth Kanteh Hellberg returned to the squad after playing his national team debut against Sierra Leone in the two legs of the first round World Cup qualifiers in September 2019.

Goalkeeper Ashley Williams, midfielder David Tweh and striker Kpah Sherman are also returning, having played in Lonestar’s 5-4 penalties defeat (after a 1-1 aggregate draw) to Chad in a 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier at the Stade Omnisports Idriss Mahamat Ouya in N’Djamena on 13 October 2019.

Midfielder Allen Njie, Marcus Macaulay and Oscar Murphy Dorley, who have been training with the Lonestar since May, are also included in the squad.

Defender Mark Pabai who ply his trade for Jong FC Utrecht in The Netherlands, midfielder Prince Saydee of Phoenix Rising FC, United States and forwards Mohammed ‘Keka’ Kamara (Hatayspor, Turkey) and Sylvanus Nimely (HNK Gorica, Croatia) pulled-out of the friendlies due to personal/family reasons.

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Ashley Williams (RB Linense, Spain), Tommy Songo (LISCR FC) and Morlik Keita (Mighty Barrolle)

Defenders: Prince Balde (KF Feronikeli, Kosovo), Othello Bah (Miami FC, United States of America), Sampson Dweh (LPRC Oilers), Daniel Paye (Bea Mountain) and Jeremy Saygbe (LISCR FC)

Midfielders: Festus Blapoh and Benjamin Sackor (Monrovia Club Breweries); Allen Njie (FC Aarau, Switzerland), Oscar Murphy Dorley (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Seth Kanteh Hellberg (IK Brage, Sweden), Armah Vaikannah (LISCR FC), Marcus Macaulay (Al Jeel Club, Saudi Arabia), David Tweh (Rukh Brest, Belarus) and Frederick Dennis (Tony FC)

Forwards/Wingers: Edward Ledlum and Ketu Jerbo (Bea Mountain); Alloy Brown (Nimba Kwado), Kpah Sherman (Kedah Darul Aman FC, Malaysia) and Peter Wilson (Podbeskidzie Bielsko-Biala, Poland)