Jackson Pockets L$475,000 as LFA 1st Division MVP


MONROVIA – LISCR striker Christopher Jackson has been named the most valuable player (MVP) of the 2019 Orange-sponsored Liberia Football Association (LFA) season.

Christopher, alias the Big Man, saw off competitions from teammate Sam Jackson and Varney Dukuly of Nimba United. 

The award which was voted for by club captain, coaches and accredited sports journalists, who covered the LFA league, saw LISCR FC forward beat off competition from Nimba United’s forward Varney Dukuly and fellow mate Sam Jackson.

“I felt very happy when I was announced at the win,” C. Jackson said.  “I never had this type of feeling before and the award means a lot to me.  When I came back from Europe things were difficult for me but Coach Tapha Manneh helped and encouraged me to push forward. So this award is like a challenge to me, if I may play in Liberia league, than I need to fight to maintain the award this season,” C. Jackson added.

President George Manneh Weah and former Liberia international James Salinsa Debbah jointly presented the key of a 2013 Toyota Corolla to Christopher at a gala at the Monrovia City Hall on Saturday, November 2nd.

The gala was sponsored by Doxxbet-Liberia, which gave the LFA US$24,000 in April. Orange-Liberia, a mobile phone operator in the country, topped-up the prizes with L$3 million.

Christopher also received L$250,000, a Techno phone and USB stick along with the car.

He shared the joint-highest goal-scorer award with Dukuly where they also received L$225,000, a USB stick and Techno phones. 

In total, Christopher took home L$475,000, two Techno phones and two USB sticks.

Muscat FC striker Mark Yallah won the second division MVP, while Earth Angels FC striker Angeline Kieh won the MVP for the female division.

Mark pocketed L$450,000 and Angeline received L$350,000 along with a Techno phone and USB stick respectively. 

Angeline, who scored a whopping 42 goals last season, also received the female highest goal-scorer award, receiving L$225,000, a USB stick and Techno phone.

It means Angeline took home L$575,000, two Techno phones and two USB sticks.  

Barrack Young Controllers (BYC-II) striker Jestino Jackson received the highest scorer award following his 20 goals last season, taking home L$275,000, a USB stick and Techno phone. 

Prince Wlame won the best goalkeeper award in the first division with 14 clear sheets. Wlame, who said the award could not have been possible without his club coach Cooper Sannoh.

“I was thinking about forgetting football and to get marry but Coach Sannoh called me and re-lived my career,” the goalkeeper said. 

Fifa-badged referee Jerry Yekeh was named the best referee in the first and second divisions, taking home L$450,000, two Techno phones and two USB sticks.

Fifa-badged referee Sylvina Garnett was crowned for the female division and received L$225,000, a USB stick and Techno phone. 

KMTV sports reporter Anthony Koikoi won the best football journalist award, taking home a USB stick, Techno phone and L$225,000.

Here is a roll call of the remaining winners. 

Category “A” First Division 

Best Defender (Samson Dweh): L$225,000+1USB stick+Techno phone; Best Goalkeeper (Prince Wlame): L$225,000+1USB stick+Techno phone 

Best Coach (Cooper Sannah): L$225,000+1USB stick+Techno phone

Category “B” Second Division 

Best Defender (Josephus Mantor): L$225,000+1USB stick + Techno phone 

Best Goalkeeper (Reuben King): L$225,000+1USB stick+Techno phone, Best Coach (Mouctarr Fofana): L$225,000 + 1USB stick + techno phone

Category “C” Female Division 

Best Defender (Rashidatu Kamara): L$225,000+1USB stick + Techno phone 

Best Goalkeeper (Lorpu Forkpah): L$225,000+1USB stick+Techno phone; Best Coach (Jenkins Doe): L$225,000+1USB stick+Techno phone