Blanco FC, LISCR FC Win LFA Super Cup


Monrovia – The Liberia Football Association (LFA) 2019/2020 national league officially kicked off Sunday, November 3, at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium with Super Cup matches in female and male divisions of the league.

Defending first division champions LPRC Oilers and knockout champions LISCR FC battled things out for the Super Cup in what was an entertaining match.

Blanco FC and LISCR FC were winners of the Orange 2019/2020 Liberia Football Association (LFA) Super Cup.

Blanco beat bitter rivals Earth Angels, who won the league and cup double last season, 3-0 at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium (ATS) on Sunday.

Agatha Nimene, who scored 39 goals last season but lost the Most Valuable Player to Angeline Kieh, continued from where she stopped with a hat-trick in the 61st, 80th and 85th minutes respectively as the current MVP could not reply to Agatha goals.

The defending champions will have themselves to blame, having fielded nine players, including most valuable player (MVP) Angeline Kieh, who wore the captain’s armband and best defender Rashidatu Kamara.

And Blanco duly capitalized on their numerical advantage but they had to wait until the second half to begin their march to victory and avenge last season’s Super Cup defeat.

In the male category, defending champions LPRC Oilers lost 1-0 to LISCR FC.

First division MVP Christopher Jackson was denied by best goalkeeper Prince Wlame, who kept 16 clean sheets last season when he pounced on a cross from Sheku Sheriff in the early minutes of the match.

Oilers’ shot stopper again denied the Oil Boys later with a brilliant save from Christopher’s header to the disbelief of the LISCR faithful.

Wlame proved why he won the best goal keeper in 2019 season when he saved a penalty from Sam Jackson at the close of the first half.

And Jackson amended for his missed penalty when Seku Sheriff turned provided for the winner in the 85th minutes as his set-piece landed on Sam’s right foot to.

It will be the Oil Boys’ second final, having pinned Monrovia Club Breweries 1-0 in President Weah’s Cup 1-0 on Friday.

It was  a delight to watch LISCR striker Christopher Jackson, who was named the MVP of the 2019 Orange-sponsored LFA season at a gala sponsored by Doxxbet-Liberia and Orange-Liberia and best goal keeper Prince Wlame of LPRC Oilers and the best coach Copper Sannah, who was giving all necessary instructions from the touchline of LPRC.


Earth Angels: 3-Rebecca Tarr, 4-Francisca Howe, 5-Alice Savice, 6-Princess Washington, 8-Kantie Sayee, 10-Angeline Kieh (captain), 11-Rashidatu Kamara, 15-Josephine Kaiwine, 16-Massa Konneh (goalie) and 17-Tetee Doe. Head coach Lawrence Hne, assistant coach Ernest Cheno and medic Rebecca Gweah.

Blanco FC: 1-Asatu Dulleh (goalie), 4-Amanda Powo, 5-Marie Flomo, 6-Agatha Nimene, 7-Love Kofa, 10-Fatmata Kargbo, 13-Alice Koroma, 14-Bendu Kloty, 15-Albertee Lumbeh, 20-Promise Johnson and 21-Lucy Massaquoi (captain).

Substitutes: 3-Cynthia Paye, 8-Elizabeth Williams, 9-Wuyah Mohai 11-Winnie Dorbah and 12-Reona Nyanti.

Officials: match commissioner Francis Tamba, referee Klubo Gboluma, assistant referee #1 Glen Johnson, assistant referee #2 Elton Garteh, reserve referee Hannah Moses and statistician Sheleton M. Kamara

LPRC Oilers: 1-Prince Wlame (goalie), 2-Nuwo Johnson, 3-Nicholas Wotee 5-Alvin Maccornel, 9-Terry Sackor, 10-Augustine Otu, 11-Ebenezer Solo (captain), 12 Aloysius Simujla, 22-Titus Cooper (17-Sidiki Kromah 83’), 25-Varney Sando and 29-Prince Jetoh (18-Trokon Jackson 81’).

Unused substitutes: 4-Solomon Wesseh, 15-Fred Brooks, 20-Saylee Swen, 24-Brand Debah, 26-James Mulubah.

LISCR FC: 3-Michael Temeh, 7-Sam Jackson, 6-Benjamin Doe (26-Curtis Koon 77’), 8-John Momo, 10-Sheku Sheriff (5-William Lape 90), 12-Jeremy Saygbe, 18-Tommy Songo (goalie and captain), 14-Marlon Harrison (22-Edward Ledlum 65’), 17-Christopher Jackson, 19-Armah Vaikainah and 28-Dirkir Glay.

Unused substitutes: 25-Ashley Williams, 27-Alloy Brown, 13-Edward Selebah and 21-Maliki Kromah.

Officials: match commissioner Alex Nagbo, referee George Rogers, assistant referee #1 Johnson Gbartea, assistant referee #2 Ephriam Grant, reserve referee Moses Forkpah and statistician Sheleton Kamara.