Lone Star Delegation Touchdown In Tunisia

MONROVIA – A 30-man Liberia Football Association (LFA) delegation arrived in Tunisia on board a Turkish airline on 7 June to honor two international friendlies.

The delegation, which left Monrovia on 6 June and transited in Accra, Ghana, is lodging at Mouradi Palace in Tunis.

It is headed by LFA executive committee member Nyemah Nyanway and includes Bea Mountain President Joseph Vincent, Assistant Sports Minister James B. Toe, Ministry of Finance and Development Planning director of budget Saye-Maye Cole and News Newspaper sports editor Joseph Vincent.

Others are head coach Peter Butler, trainer George Gebro, goalkeeping coach Sunday Seah, kitman Tommy Johnson, team doctor Torsou Jallabah and masseur Sampson Zoegbeh.

Deputy coach Christopher Wreh, administrative manager Sebastian Collins and LISCR FC midfielder Armah Vaikannah are being quarantined, having tested positive for Covid-19 in Monrovia.

Mighty Barrolle goalkeeper Morlik Keita, who also tested positive for Covid-19 in Accra, will undergo a second test on Monday.

Uncapped defenders Prince Balde and Othello Bah are among 10 foreign-based players invited for the trip.

Midfielder Seth Kanteh Hellberg makes a return, having won his only two caps against Sierra Leone in the first round World Cup qualifiers in September 2019.

Goalkeeper Ashley Williams, midfielder David Tweh and striker Kpah Sherman are also returning, having played in 5-4 penalties defeat (after a 1-1 aggregate draw) to Chad in a 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier at the Stade Omnisports Idriss Mahamat Ouya in N’Djamena on 13 October 2019.

Defender Mark Pabai (Jong FC Utrecht, Netherlands), winger/midfielder Prince Saydee (Phoenix Rising FC, United States of America) and forwards Mohammed ‘Keka’ Kamara (Hatayspor, Turkey) and Sylvanus Nimely (HNK Gorica, Croatia) pulled-out of the friendlies due to personal/family reasons.

Liberia will take on Mauritania on 11 June and Libya on 14 June in Tunis.

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Ashley Williams (RB Linense, Spain) and Tommy Songo (LISCR FC)

Defenders: Prince Balde (KF Feronikeli, Kosovo), Othello Bah (Miami FC, United States of America), Sampson Dweh (LPRC Oilers), Daniel Paye (Bea Mountain) and Jeremy Saygbe (LISCR FC)

Midfielders: Festus Blapoh and Benjamin Sackor (Monrovia Club Breweries); Allen Njie (FC Aarau, Switzerland), Oscar Murphy Dorley (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Seth Kanteh Hellberg (IK Brage, Sweden), Marcus Macaulay (Al Jeel Club, Saudi Arabia), David Tweh (Rukh Brest, Belarus) and Frederick Dennis (Tony FC)

Forwards/Wingers: Edward Ledlum and Ketu Jerbo (Bea Mountain); Alloy Brown (Nimba Kwado), Kpah Sherman (Kedah Darul Aman FC, Malaysia) and Peter Wilson (Podbeskidzie Bielsko-Biala, Poland)

Comments (0)
Add Comment