Jimmy Jolocon Wins National High School Athletics Championship


Monrovia – Jimmy Jolocon High School has retained the National High School Athletics Championship in a one-day track and field competition at the Samuel K. Doe Complex Practice Pitch that took place on Friday May 5, 2017.

Report by Christopher C. Walker – [email protected]

The Male and Female Teams of the Cobra Kingdom of the Jimmy Jolocon High School earned a total of 72 points, nine gold medals, seven silver medals and six (6) bronze medals. 

The 2016 and 2017 High School Athletics Champs and four other schools participated in nine events, namely: 100m, 200m, 400m and 800m. 

The remaining events are 1500m, 4x100m, 4x400m, Long Jump and Shot Put.

The Kingdom Foundation High School emerged Second in the High School Athletics Championship with 58 points. 

The Male and Female Teams of Kingdom Foundation got eight gold medals, five silver medals and three bronze medals.

While the third place title was won by the St. Kizito Catholic High School, with 15 points.  Kizito earned three silver medals and six bronze medals. 

At the same time Effort Baptist and S. Patrick Jallah Schools won the 4th and 5th places respectively.

Effort Baptist had one gold medal, two silver medals and a bronze medal, while S. Patrick Jallah School got a gold medal, silver medal and two (2) bronze medals.

The head coach of the LAF, Samuel Cooper said the National High School Athletics Championship is aimed at affording the LAF the opportunity to promote athletics in schools and institutions and to encourage and scout new talents.

The High School Athletics Championship is one of the annual competitions of the LAF. 

Meanwhile, the Lone Star athletics teams departed the country Sunday, May 7, to participate in the Region II and ECOWAS Junior and Senior Championships in Conakry, Guinea.

The delegation includes the 11 qualified athletes and head coach Samuel Cooper. 

These are the athletes who made the trip to Conatry Guinea:  Andrew S. Kpehe (1500m male, time 4.30.34) and Lucy Massaquoi (1500m female, time 5.48.42); Philip G. Lademo (400m male, time 51.58); and Abraham Harris and Sunnyboy Barcon (200m males, time 23.12 and 23.84) and Nancy Saah (200m female time 25.30) as well as Richard Mayango (Shot Put best throw measurement 13.10) and Galama Mawolo (Shot Put best throw measurement 9.85).

Anis Faraj (5000m male), Kadmiel Enders (High Jump) and Emmanuel Kartus (long Jump).