CAF Champions League: BYC Eliminated on Penalty Shootout


Monrovia – Liberia’s only hope in the Confederation of African Football (CAF) Champions league Barrack Young Controllers (BYC) are out of the ongoing competition.

BYC after a successful 2-0 victory in actual time during Sunday’s match levied the aggregate to 2-2 after the team suffered in 2-0 away defeat in Mozambique.

However, both teams could not go the extra mile on the aggregate, pushing the game to penalty shootout at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium (ATS).

The home side went out of the competition she lost 4-1 to the visiting side in the penalty shootout.

BYC defeat started after the visitor substitute goalkeeper Soares Y. Soares saved goalkeeper Allenton Sembeh penalty.

Milton Nhambombe opener in the penalty kick sent BYC goalkeeper Sembeh far adrift from the ball, making a perfect goal.

It all went wrong after Dayo Antonio scored Ferroviario da Beira FC second penalty and goalkeeper Soare again saved BYC third penalty kicked by substitute Solomon Yahweh and Andre Raelo of the visitors scored his side fourth penalty.

The visitors won the first leg 2-0 a week ago at home and they came with the hope of fighting for a draw but BYC started the second leg with total pressure on the opponent’s defense.

 BYC had more scoring chances in the first half but only two of those scoring chances materialized in the 16th and 40th minutes.

With total ball control along with several powerful shots on target, BYC got the match opening goal through striker Abdulai Bility splendid header from a perfect cross pass received from team Captain Van- Dave Harmon.

The visitors Captained by Manuel Fernandes performances were dismal and flawed with poor ball control, finishing touches and passes.

Prince Kennedy increased BYC’s hope of advancing to the group stage of the competition in the 40th minute through penalty kick after defender Kemoh Kamara shot kicked from the 20th yard resulted into handball caused by a defender of the visitors.

Striker Prince Saydee and Mark Paye wasted the opportunity which could have sealed the deal for BYC.

Striker Chelito Omar, Amara Ugwu, Dayo Antonio, Fabrice Kanda and the team Captain were the players of Ferroviario da Beira were instrumental in denying BYC a third goal.

The visitor’s captain Fernando told journalist that they were happy about their achievement, especially after reaching the group stage of the competition for the first time in the club history.

“We are very happy today and we are going back home with a record that we have never set before in African football, so I say thank you to my friends and our officials for our success.”

BYC players and officials refused to talk to the press after the match.

BYC advanced to the second round of the competition in February after her away victory against Stade Malien in Bamako Mali in Penalty shootout.

The home side made three substitutions.

Prince Saydee was replaced by Varney Dukuly in the 78th minute, Solomon Yahweh went in for Abraham Koffa in the 80th and David Tweh was replaced by Claudius Morris in the 81st minute.  

BYC was headed by her 20 Captain Harmon, 1. Allenton Sembeh 2. Prince Jtoh, 4. Kemoh Kamara, 8. Prince Kennedy and 21. Hilton Varney.

Others are 18. Abdulai Bility, 22. David Tweh, 15. Mark Paye, 10 Prince Syadee and 26. Abraham Koffa.


16. Morris Taar, 5. Solomon Yahweh, 13. Gideon Williams, 17. Varney Dukuly, 9.Randy Dukuly, 6. Claudius Morris and 11. Sporo Somah.

The visitors carried on three changes also after Chelito Omar was replaced with GilAtoy in the 62nd minute, Amara Ugwu was substituted by Mussa Joao in the 55th minute while goalkeeper Soares replaced goalkeeper Willard Mantatera in the 90th minute.

 Ferroviario da Beira FC lineup was made up her Captain and number nine Manuel Fernande, 3. Pascoal Carlos, 4. Milton Nhambombes, 5. Edson Morals.

Others are 11. Chelito Omar, 13. Amara Ugwu, 17.Dayo Antonio, 18 Geryasio Sebastiao, 22.Fabrice Kanda, 28. Andre Raelo.

The Substitute players were 24. Soares Y. Soares, 14. Gil Atoy, 30. Mussa Joao, 20.Aurio Nharreluga, 26. Abrao Cufa and 8. Franciisco Manuel.