Musa Dean Replaces ‘Integrity Entrapped’ Charles Gibson as Justice Minister-Designate


Monrovia – Series of issues on ethical transgression reported by the media on Cllr. Charles Gibson when he was nominated as Justice Minister/Attorney General has forced President George Manneh Weah to rescind his preferment.

Report by Lennart Dodoo, [email protected]

The President withdrew the nomination after a prolonged confirmation by the Liberian Senate. Gibson was nominated on Jan. 22 immediately when President Weah took his oath of office.

He’s on record for misappropriating US$25,322.00 from a client, which led to his two-month suspension from direct and indirect practice of law by the Supreme Court in the bailiwick of Liberia.

FrontPageAfrica also discovered that Gibson lost his job at the United Nations Mission in Liberia for allegedly shortchanging one of his clients in a land deal.

According to the Executive Mansion, President Weah, through a communication to Gibson and the Pro-Tempore of the Senate, announced the rescinding of the preferment for the post. 

Cllr. Musa Dean, who served as lead lawyer for the National Elections Commission (NEC) during the October 2017 election impasse, has been named as Justice Minister-designate. 

Cllr. Dean served as the lead lawyer in the Hans Williams and Mardea Paykue versus the Government of Liberia in the landmark Angel Tokpa case. 

He earned LL.M. (Master of Laws) with concentration on International Business Law from the Columbia University, School of Law in 1990 after getting his LL.B. (Bachelor of Laws) from the Louis Arthur Grimes, School of Law, University of Liberia in 1988. 

He also attained Diploma in Telecommunications Management Studies from Bailbrook College, England in 1989. 

Cllr. Dean is the founder and managing director of Dean & Associates, Inc. law office in Monrovia. 

He served as the CEO of National Oil Company from 2003 to 2006 where he presided over the daily operations of the company; arranged and supervised the company’s First Offshore Oil Exploration Licensing Round (Bid Round) in London, (March 29, 2004), and Houston, (April 1, 2004); presided over the successful completion of the Bid Rounds and the award of oil blocks for exploration. 

From 1996-1997, he served as the Deputy Minister of Justice/Deputy Attorney General for Economic Affairs where he served as head of the Economic Division of the Ministry of Justice.

During his tenure, he ensured the prevention and prosecution of economic crimes; furnished legal opinions and rendered services requiring legal skills to the Executive Branch of the Government; assisted the Minister of Justice to procure the proper evidence for the prosecution or defense of suits and proceedings in the courts in which the Republic of Liberia was a party; and performed such specific tasks as delegated by the Minister of Justice.

Meanwhile, President Weah has nominated Nyemadi D. Pearson as Managing Director of Liberia Petroleum Refining Company (LPRC), Stanley Ford as Deputy Managing Director/Administration at LPRC.

Dr. Jerry Brown has been named as Acting Director General/Administrator of the John F. Kennedy Medical Center, while Dama Yekeson-Koffa is nominated as Acting Deputy Director General/Administrator.

Cllr.  Cooper Kruah is now the Minister-designate for Post and Telecommunications. 

The rest of the appointments are as follows:

Liberia Immigration and Naturalization Service (LINS)
Moses K. Yebleh                                  Deputy Commissioner for Administration

Land Commission
Ellen D. Pratt                                      Land Use & Management

Richmond Nagbe Tobii                        Managing Director    

National Fisheries
William Y. Boeh                                  Deputy Director for Technical Service

National Document and Archives
Neilleh Daituah                                    Director
Kollie Kamara                                      Deputy Director/Administration Archives

Robert International Airport
Paula Fares                                         Deputy General Manager Technical Services

Liberia National Police (LNP)
Robert Budy                                        Deputy Director/Operations 

John F. Kennedy Medical Center 
Dr. Jerry Brown                                  Acting Director General/Administrator
Dama Yekeson-Koffa                           Acting Deputy Director General/Administrator

Bureau of Concession       
Daddy Gibson                                     Deputy Director General Administration


Liberia Petroleum Refinery Company (LPRC)
Nyemadi D. Pearson                           Managing Director
Stanley Ford                                     Deputy Managing Director/Administration 

National Transit Authority (NTA)
Joseph B. Wisseh                                Dep. Managing Director for Operations

Ministry of Internal Affairs
Emmet Reeves                                       Deputy Minister for Operations       
Edward Fineboy                                  Assistant Minister for Operations
Paulita C.C.  Wieh                              Deputy Minister for Urban Affairs
Abubakak Bah                                     Assistant Minister for Urban Affairs

Ministry Post & Telecommunication
Cllr.  Cooper Kruah                            Minister
Melvin Yealu                                      Assistant Minister for Administration
Cyrus Kamara                                     Assistant Minister for Research & Planning

Ministry of Labor
Togba Porte                                         Assistant Minister for Trade Union Affairs

Ministry of Justice
Cllr. Musa F. Dean                             Minister 

Ministry of Education
Felecia Sackey Donsumah                  Assistant Minister for Elementary & Secondary Education
Othello W. Nimely                               Asst. Minister of Education for Student Personnel Services
Henrietta M. Sackor                              Assistant Minister for General Administration
Othello W. Nimely                              Assistant Minister for Student Personnel Services
Domonic N. Kwene                             Assistant Minister for Research & Planning
James A. Massaquoi                            Assistant Minister for Fiscal Affairs & Human Resources
Gayflor Y. Washington                       Assistant Minister for Teacher Education

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Amb. Jarjar Kamara                            Senior Ambassador-At-large
Amb. Ibrahim Nyei                            Ambassador-At-Large
Amb. Robert Y. Lormia, II                  Ambassador-At-Large
Adonis Z. Greaves                              Assistant Minister of Foreign Affairs
Austin Spiller                                     Assistant Minister for Administration
Naomie Gray                                     Assistant Minister for Afro-Asian Affairs
Rosetta N. Jackollie                           Assistant Minister for Legal Affairs
Maxwell P. Vah                                  Assistant Minister for American Affairs
Sylvester K. Pewee                             Assistant Minister for Public Affairs
Sherdrick M. Jackson                         Asst. Min. for International Cooperation & Economic Affairs
Abratha P. Doe                                 Assistant Minister for European Asian Affairs