NDI Liberia Observation Leadership to Observe Poll Opening in Monrovia  Dec. 26


Monrovia – The National Democratic Institute (NDI) is fielding an international election observation mission for Liberia’s presidential run-off election, December 26.

Leadership of the delegation will witness the polls open tomorrow morning on election day at the St. Peter’s Lutheran Church location in Monrovia. They will be available to speak to the press.

Leadership of the delegation is comprised of Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, former President of Nigeria; Atifete Jahjaga, former President of Kosovo; Hanna Tetteh, former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Ghana; and Dr. Christopher Fomunyoh, Regional Director, NDI.

The delegation includes 36 political and civic leaders, elections experts, and regional specialists from 18 countries across Africa, Europe and North America.

What: NDI Delegation Leadership available to speak to the press at poll opening

Where: St. Peter’s Lutheran Church polling place (location)

When: Tuesday, December 26, 7:45 am

Who: President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, President Atifete Jahjaga, Minister Hanna Tetteh, Dr. Christopher Fomunyoh, NDI Observer Delegation Members

The objectives of the NDI delegation are to provide an accurate and impartial assessment of the administration and character of the election process in Liberia and to demonstrate the support of the international community to Liberian efforts to strengthen democratic processes in their country.

The NDI delegation will hold a press conference on Thursday, December 28 at 11:30 am at the Royal Grand Hotel.

At that time, NDI will issue a report with the delegation’s preliminary findings and recommendations on steps that could enhance confidence and participation in the election process.

The international observation mission is supported by a grant from the United States Agency for International Development (USAID).

NDI is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization working to support and strengthen democratic institutions worldwide through citizen participation, openness, and accountability in government.