Rep. Snowe Welcomes New Appointment As Chair On Foreign Affairs

Rep. Snowe Welcomes New Appointment As Chair On Foreign Affairs

Monrovia - Representative Edwin Snowe, the new chairman of the House of Representatives Foreign Affairs Committee, says he will use his position to foster collaboration between Liberia and other countries especially African ones.

Report by Henry Karmo - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Rep. Snowe, who is currently one of Liberia’s Representatives to the ECOWAS Parliament and a ranking member on the Ways, Means and Finance committee of ECOWAS, is the first beneficiary of the largess of the newly elected Speaker, Representative Emmanuel Nuquay of Margibi County.

In an interview with FrontPageAfrica via mobile, he promised to foster foreign policy that has been started by President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and said he would capitalize on the gains already made.

Former Speaker Snowe was ousted as Speaker of the House of Representatives in 2007 forging a relation with Taiwan, violating Liberia’s One-China Policy. 

He said he was in the position to achieve with his new portfolio.

“It is an added advantage to the current position I serve with my role as a ranking member to the ECOWAS parliament. It will help me foster relationship between Liberia, other African countries and the world,” he said.

Nuquay and Snowe have come a long way since 2006, since the 52nd Legislature.

They served as chairs on Ways, Means and Finance and Rules order and Administration Committees, respectively under the speakership of Representative Alex Tyler, their one-time ally but fell apart with him after they were both removed from their committees.

Snowe’s appointment as Chairman on Foreign Affairs comes more than three years after he was removed from the United Nations traveling ban list.

He and other current and past officials of government were placed on the United Nations traveling ban for their alleged role in the administration of former Liberia President Charles Taylor.

The House of Representatives has officially closed for its normal legislative constituency break with the setting up of a 15-member ad hoc leadership committee to run the affairs of the Legislature during the break.

Those appointed are: Representatives Samuel Korga, Nimba County, Zoe Pennue, Grand Gedeh County, Tokpah Mulbah, Bong County, William Dakel, Montserrado County, Mary Kawor, Grand Bassa County, Edward Kaifia, Margibi County, Gertude Lamin, Gbapolu County, Numene Bartekwa, Grand Kru County, Isaac Roland Maryland County and Julie Wiah of Lofa County.